Other visual novels to play on Nintendo Switch if you liked Digimon Survive

Digimon Survive, the latest game featuring the titular digital monsters, surprised many fans by using visual novel elements rather than remaining a strict action role-playing game. Described as a hybrid between a visual novel and a tactical role-playing game, Digimon Survive tasked players with making the right choices as they navigated a dramatic story alongside a large cast of humans and Digimon. Many gamers who have enjoyed the game have found themselves looking for other visual novels to play next – and the Nintendo Switch is the perfect console for such an endeavor.

GAMER VIDEO OF THE DAY

Although it features combat, Digimon Survive draws on many elements of the visual novel genre. Between battles, players experience the game’s story in “Drama Parts”, in the form of a text-based adventure. They can also talk and interact with other characters during “Free Action” and use “Search Actions” to search for ways to survive in the mysterious world they are trapped in. Player choices affect everything from how certain Digimon Digivolve to which characters survive the game to which Digimon Survive end to which they finally arrive. Those who have found themselves enjoying these visual novel elements can explore the genre further with the Nintendo Switch, as the hybrid console has seen the release of a number of both classic and contemporary visual novels.


RELATED: Digimon Survive Error Mixes Digimon Names

Visual novel with combat: 13 Sentinels: Aegis Rim

Some fans and critics have already drawn comparisons between Digimon Survive and 13 Sentinels: Aegis Rim, as both are considered hybrid visual novels with elements from other genres, including tactics-based combat. Gamers looking for a similar experience to Digimon Survive should give 13 Sentinels: Aegis Rim a try, as the 2019 version – which debuted on the PlayStation 4 before finally making its way to the Nintendo Switch in 2022 – also alternates between text-based visual novel-inspired scenes featuring dialogue choices and battle cards tactics.


13 Sentinels: Aegis Rim tells a complex story based on time travel. It centers on the titular thirteen characters, each of whom discovers that they are able to pilot giant robots called Sentinels and must defend the world against attacking monsters called kaiju. The game features a twisting plot that will keep players guessing until the very last moment as they jump between different time periods and gradually uncover the story of 13 Sentinels room by room. It’s a modern and unique take on the visual novel genre that features non-linear stories and gives each of its 13 playable characters time to shine.


Visual novel with dark tone: AI: Somnium files

Digimon Survive surprised some players with its dark tone, which wasn’t afraid to detract from the more family-oriented storytelling found in some previous Digimon games and a large part of Digimon animated television series. Depending on the choices players make, not all characters will survive the endgame, and some of their deaths may be unexpected and even disturbing. Fans who were drawn to this darker tone should check it out. AI: Somnium files and its sequel IA: Somnium files – nirvanA initiative, a visual novel duology created by Japanese developer Kotaro Uchikoshi.

The Somnium files the visual novels center on the ABIS, a special investigative unit made up of detectives who can get into the very minds of witnesses and suspects. Each game tasks members of ABIS with solving a grisly serial murder – in the first game, the killer gouges out their victims’ eyes, while in the second, the victims’ bodies are found completely cut in half. Gameplay alternates between choice-based dialogue and exploration sections and escape room-style puzzles based on the witnesses’ psyches. Both Somnium files the games are available for PC, PlayStation 4, and Xbox One in addition to the Nintendo Switch.


RELATED: The Digimon World Series Explained

Visual Novel centered on the characters: the ace lawyer Series

An element of Digimon Survive which generally received praise was its large cast of unique characters, which includes both humans and over 100 of the titular Digimon. Each Digimon the player encounters offers unique interaction options as the player strives to befriend them, and the choices made and actions taken can influence how and when Digimon Digivolve throughout the game. story. Players who have logged in to Digimon Survive through its large cast of characters would probably enjoy As a lawyer, a series of deduction and exploration based visual novels that introduce a new set of characters to interact with in each game.

Currently, several games in the ace lawyer are available on the Nintendo Switch. The first three games, which feature attorney Phoenix Wright as the protagonist, can be purchased together as The Ace Attorney Trilogy, while The chronicles of the great ace lawyer is a duology starring Phoenix ancestor Ryunosuke Naruhodo as he solves mysteries in London alongside the great detective Herlock Sholmes. These two titles can be purchased together in a five-game bundle called The Turning collection. Other games in the series including Apollo Justice: Ace Lawyer and the Ace Lawyer Investigations spin-off games, have yet to make their way to the Switch but may in the future.


These are just a few of the visual novels available on the Nintendo Switch. Other options include Famicom Detective Club, a remake duology of two classic titles considered among the first of their kind, the mysterious Danganronpa series, and the creepy curvy Doki Doki Literature Club. Both seasoned fans of the genre and those new to visual novels through Digimon Survive can certainly take advantage of the wide variety of titles the Switch has to offer.

Digimon Survive is currently available for Nintendo Switch, PC, PlayStation 4 and Xbox One.

MORE: 7 Mistakes Everyone Makes While Playing Digimon Survive

About Jason Zeitler

Check Also

Koei Tecmo teases the next chapter of the Atelier series

Image: Koei Tecmo/Atelier Ryza 2 Late last month, it was discovered that Koei Tecmo’s Tokyo …